About Rose Hill

Established 1898

About Rose Hill

Rose Hill is a beautifully restored Winter Colony Estate in Aiken, South Carolina. The estate has a rich history from the founding family, the Phelps, to each owner following, in art, history, music, horticulture, cultural events, Southern hospitality and more. Rose Hill is the  home of creating and nourishing organizations that have left a rich legacy in the City of Aiken, such as, the Girl Scouts of America’s Aiken Chapter, the Garden Club of Aiken, Garden Club of South Carolina, and the Aiken Center for the Arts and more. Over a century of determination, passion for natural beauty, giving, and accomplishment woven with a sensibility of reserve and elegant understatement provide a glimpse of timeless beauty and wondrous charm that is Rose Hill Estate.

Historical Postcard showing the Inn at Rose Hill

The property on which Rose Hill now stands was originally owned by Confederate soldier Alfred Holmes and the original Antebellum home destroyed during the Civil War in the Battle of Aiken. Nearly thirty years after the end of the Civil War, the property and temperate climate caught the attention of the Phelps Family from the Northeast United States as the site for their winter home and Rose Hill was born.

enjoy viewing this video about the History of Rose Hill...

Want to experience this slice of historical paradise?
Want to share the experience of Rose Hill?
Our stay was amazing. We will be returning again.
Amy Johnson
We were treated like royalty. Rose Hill is the real deal! Highly recommended.